Cancelling invoices

How to cancel an invoice.

When you cancel an invoice, the customer's account will be credited. This is different from refunding an invoice, where the money is sent to the customer using their chosen payment gateway.‌ 

  If the invoice that is cancelling was paid, the total amount from the invoice will be credited to the customer's account, this amount can be seen in the ledger and the credit can be used to pay for future invoices. If the invoice was not paid before the cancellation, the credit note created will balance out the invoice leaving no credit on the customer's account. 

  If you use Quickbooks please see the article on cancelled invoices in QBO.

To cancel an unpaid invoice

  1. If the side menu is not visible, click .

  2. In the side menu, click Finance, then click Invoices.

  3. Do one of the following:

    • Move your pointer to the left of the invoice you want to refund and select the check-box that is displayed.

    • At the end of the invoice you want to refund, click .

    A pop-out menu is displayed.

  4. On either pop-out menu, click Cancel invoice and a new page is displayed.

  5. Click Continue. A Credit note is issued for the cancelled amount.

cancel_invoice.png
Cancelling an invoice
 

Partially cancelling an invoice. 

You can partially cancel an invoice by cancelling an invoice line from the invoice. 

  1.  If the side menu is not visible, click .
  2. In the side menu, click Finance, then click Invoices.
  3. Filter and find the invoice you want to partially cancel
  4. Once on the invoice, click   on the right side of the line you want to cancel
  5. Credit the invoice line 

mceclip0.png

Partial cancelling an invoice

mceclip1.png

Partial cancelling an invoice 

 
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.